New Computer Thoughts/Opinions (Pre-Buy)

View previous topic View next topic Go down

New Computer Thoughts/Opinions (Pre-Buy)

Post by Minty Kitty on Sat Nov 29, 2014 3:51 pm

So liek, im thinking about building my own Desktop on a strict budget.

I went to Kotaku's latest article that gave a list of parts, which do u think i shud go for? They say u can build a pretty good system for just 200 - 300$.

Theres also 1 for 600 but the parts are on sale so it only comes to liek 300 - 400.

300:
http://pcpartpicker.com/user/alanhenry/saved/CVTBD3


600:
http://pcpartpicker.com/user/alanhenry/saved/PNFtt6

Opinions? Good? Bad? I want a Good Gaming Rig that can run most MMO's like FFXIVARR and Tera at High - Max Settings with solid 30+ FPS.


Last edited by Lysheria on Sat Nov 29, 2014 11:37 pm; edited 3 times in total

__________________________________________________________________________________________

Minty Kitty
(55%)-Lv9
(55%)-Lv9

Posts : 5824
Join date : 2010-10-16
Age : 22
Currently : Moving Forward ♪

View user profile http://www.youtube.com/user/HikariVG

Back to top Go down

Re: New Computer Thoughts/Opinions (Pre-Buy)

Post by InfinitasImpetum on Sat Nov 29, 2014 4:15 pm

wow, thats cheap. my rig added up comes close to 1000$.

__________________________________________________________________________________________


InfinitasImpetum
(0%)-Lv8
(0%)-Lv8

Posts : 2160
Join date : 2012-05-30
Age : 27

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: New Computer Thoughts/Opinions (Pre-Buy)

Post by Minty Kitty on Sat Nov 29, 2014 4:20 pm

Are the parts good? Im not an expert on these things lmfao

__________________________________________________________________________________________

Minty Kitty
(55%)-Lv9
(55%)-Lv9

Posts : 5824
Join date : 2010-10-16
Age : 22
Currently : Moving Forward ♪

View user profile http://www.youtube.com/user/HikariVG

Back to top Go down

Re: New Computer Thoughts/Opinions (Pre-Buy)

Post by InfinitasImpetum on Sat Nov 29, 2014 4:27 pm

i don't know. i don't go amd for processors cause intel gets more power than amd when at the same speed. though intel is more expensive. i think there are other reason i went with intel.

InfinitasImpetum
(0%)-Lv8
(0%)-Lv8

Posts : 2160
Join date : 2012-05-30
Age : 27

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: New Computer Thoughts/Opinions (Pre-Buy)

Post by Ebgundam on Sat Nov 29, 2014 5:31 pm

mugen is right about intel and amd, if you want a gaming rig to run max, try to get an i5 or i7 processor, maybe 4th generation. for the graphics card, get a gtx760 ti. or any ti graphics card, even a gtx 750 ti is really good for the price

__________________________________________________________________________________________
im back!

Ebgundam
(70%)-Lv7
(70%)-Lv7

Posts : 1543
Join date : 2011-01-20

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: New Computer Thoughts/Opinions (Pre-Buy)

Post by Minty Kitty on Sat Nov 29, 2014 5:38 pm

My Budget i HAVE to set for myself is 450$ atm.


And i dont think thats gonna increase for a while.

Im not looking for a Beast computer that can run EVERY game at 60FPS with no lag whatsover.

Im looking for a Moderately good System that wont have problems running games, i dont care if they cant run 60FPS but i just want at least a solid 30+ on modern games.

According to the Kotaku Article via their test runs of these setups, even the 300 Budget one could run a game like Far Cry 4 at mid settings at 30 - 40FPS.

the 600 Budget one could run it at high with 30 - 45FPS.

Im using an Intel i7 laptop and can run alot of games at good settings with minimal lag but it heats up quickly and i want more.

Again, ill take what i can get and Intel's are more expensive, even i5's.

the 1200$ *Insane* Rig they posted had an Intel i5 as their processor.

But there is no way in gods hell that i am spending 1200$ on a computer.

I dont want the best performance, i want decent PLAYABLE Performance while getting moderate - high graphics in game.

THATS What i want.

Ty for ur input though, but im already aware that Intel's Processors are really good.


Last edited by Lysheria on Sat Nov 29, 2014 11:39 pm; edited 2 times in total

__________________________________________________________________________________________

Minty Kitty
(55%)-Lv9
(55%)-Lv9

Posts : 5824
Join date : 2010-10-16
Age : 22
Currently : Moving Forward ♪

View user profile http://www.youtube.com/user/HikariVG

Back to top Go down

Re: New Computer Thoughts/Opinions (Pre-Buy)

Post by InfinitasImpetum on Sat Nov 29, 2014 5:55 pm

there is an intel 4000 series processor out under 200.


lowest i5 you can find and quad core. with motherboard picked out.  picked it from highest rating mother board under 100$
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819116942&cm_re=i5-_-19-116-942-_-Product
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813135355&cm_re=motherboard-_-13-135-355-_-Product (do some research on a better motherboard than this for low price, just grabbed this one out for reference, if you decide to go with this.)



pair that with amd graphics card and you might be able to get a cheap desktop. as for other stuff. you want to get a 600w power supply.
r9 270 (2gb) or r9 280(3gb shown in your links) should do. 270 is cheaper than 280.  you should be good with 2gb or more for games.
nvidia would be better cause a couple games have performance hits on amd graphics card

@eb
a ti series card is expensive. i have a gtx 770 which is equivelant to a 660 ti. and cheaper.

InfinitasImpetum
(0%)-Lv8
(0%)-Lv8

Posts : 2160
Join date : 2012-05-30
Age : 27

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: New Computer Thoughts/Opinions (Pre-Buy)

Post by Minty Kitty on Sat Nov 29, 2014 11:38 pm

Decided on the 600$ one on sale for 320$


Will order it by the end of the year.


Friend helped me pick it out and said it is VERY good.

__________________________________________________________________________________________

Minty Kitty
(55%)-Lv9
(55%)-Lv9

Posts : 5824
Join date : 2010-10-16
Age : 22
Currently : Moving Forward ♪

View user profile http://www.youtube.com/user/HikariVG

Back to top Go down

Re: New Computer Thoughts/Opinions (Pre-Buy)

Post by 00f on Sun Nov 30, 2014 4:14 am

watch out for AMD, they got problems for video games, unike intel's, AMD don't come with auto cool down technologies, hence them getting on fire(literally) when overheating too much... but most people don't get to that point just so you know

so keep an eye on that.

intel is years ahead of amd, they hold 80% of the market share and keep amd that way so they don't fall under the american law of the monopoly thingy...  so yea. intel always has at least 2 generations up their sleeves that they can release when amd gets something new in the market ...

why do you need a pc btw? last time you showed us your lappy it was a beast nay? 

600$ one looks really good nonetheless... a steal

00f
(90%)-Lv4
(90%)-Lv4

Posts : 500
Join date : 2014-11-06
Currently : Japan

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: New Computer Thoughts/Opinions (Pre-Buy)

Post by InfinitasImpetum on Sun Nov 30, 2014 7:12 am

from my perspective amd thinks more cores are better. but intel tries to improve performance on there existing cores so you get better performance on there existing designs.

also intel and nvidia stuff lasts longer than amd products.

__________________________________________________________________________________________


InfinitasImpetum
(0%)-Lv8
(0%)-Lv8

Posts : 2160
Join date : 2012-05-30
Age : 27

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: New Computer Thoughts/Opinions (Pre-Buy)

Post by 00f on Sun Nov 30, 2014 9:08 am

InfinitasImpetum wrote:from my perspective amd thinks more cores are better. but intel tries to improve performance on there existing cores so you get better performance on there existing designs.  

also intel and nvidia stuff lasts longer than amd products.
that's not it, it's not about philosophies, it's just that intel can produce cpu with smaller nano metric circuits ... producing less heat for more power, thus amd (lacking behind) needs to have more core to try and match the same amount of power...  

it's like when the ps3 was updated to the slim version, it fixed the Yellow light of death issue caused by overheating because they replaced the cell processor with another cell processor that was manufactured smaller... thus less heat. 

amd can never catch up, it's not about opinions it's just facts, i know what im talking about i had someone close in my family running a pc business and working with the top guns of the industry for long. Intel can release new tech as soon as AMD releases one, and intel can match any price because they are already a few generations ahead...as we speak they probably already made i9 and "i" whatever the name...

__________________________________________________________________________________________






REVERBLAST







00f
(90%)-Lv4
(90%)-Lv4

Posts : 500
Join date : 2014-11-06
Currently : Japan

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: New Computer Thoughts/Opinions (Pre-Buy)

Post by Minty Kitty on Sun Nov 30, 2014 11:29 pm

I'll see if i can find a Intel Processor instead of a AMD, i just hope its not too expensive.

__________________________________________________________________________________________

Minty Kitty
(55%)-Lv9
(55%)-Lv9

Posts : 5824
Join date : 2010-10-16
Age : 22
Currently : Moving Forward ♪

View user profile http://www.youtube.com/user/HikariVG

Back to top Go down

Re: New Computer Thoughts/Opinions (Pre-Buy)

Post by InfinitasImpetum on Mon Dec 01, 2014 6:54 am

i found one not too expensive and showed you(look at previous posts). you will also need a different motherboard.  

my i5-3570k costs 230$ and its one of the best i5s you can get.  

i5-4440 is lowest price intel i5 you can find. but it can't be overclocked.

here some links that might help you.
http://www.microcenter.com/single_product_results.aspx?sku=302356
http://www.portatech.com/products/category.cshtml?id=1240

InfinitasImpetum
(0%)-Lv8
(0%)-Lv8

Posts : 2160
Join date : 2012-05-30
Age : 27

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: New Computer Thoughts/Opinions (Pre-Buy)

Post by Sponsored content Today at 12:08 pm


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum